“I sold the last of my 3 places recently. To be honest I was a bit worried about how it might impact my ego having to convert to being a renter and the feeling that I might be throwing money away.”

“I sold the last of my 3 places recently and I’ve said how happy I was to be out of the market. That’s certainly true but to be honest I was a bit worried about how it might impact my ego having to convert to being a renter and the feeling that I might be throwing money away. Well I’m happy to say it’s fantastic renting! All of the problems I used to have to spend all of my spare time fixing – the hundreds of trips to Home Depot, etc, not just on repairs but filling the house with things that perfectly outfitted it. At first I missed those trips but now I realize all the money I was spending. When renting we don’t have to worry about how the place looks because we might need to sell one day. And all the time and energy I’m saving allows me to be doing what I should really be doing – spending time with my young kids.”
No Noise at VCI 13 Jul 2012 6:09PM

9 responses to ““I sold the last of my 3 places recently. To be honest I was a bit worried about how it might impact my ego having to convert to being a renter and the feeling that I might be throwing money away.”

  1. This is one lucky guy. But make no mistake, it was dumb luck. The fact that he owned 3 places, and considers renting to be “throwing money away”, shows he was a speculator without a financial clue.

  2. How many trips to the Home Despot are lumped in as “general expenses”? Gas, materials, let alone the free labour.

    • When you’re captive to a “Home Despot” [sic], you frequently have other things on your mind… [the niceties of accountancy not being one of them].

      It is possible to escape, however. Careful planning. Travel light on moonless nights. Avoid thoroughfares and never shelter in isolated cover. Etc.

  3. It’s time to unload all real estate. My friend that’s a RE agent said, the market is set for a steep decline. Just last year he was still bullish. Things have changed bigtime. He believes that the last few years of this bubble is due to Chinese buyers shipping their illegal money into Canada to avoid huge taxes from the Chinese government. See the pattern now? Realtors a bearish. Any bullish realtors left are just pumping and bullshitting all the way to the end. I now can soon point at people and waiting to say to the ones who didn’t listen. “I told you so”.

    • “It’s time to unload all real estate”.

      fools cash in.
      If there are detached sellers willing to discount their land please call the Regretable Decisions hotline at 1-800-got-took

      • 4SlicesofCheese

        I called, they are currently experiencing higher then normal call volume.

      • Yeah what’s up with that? I was put on hold. Guess there’s a bidding war going on in another part of the city.

  4. http://www.etnet.com.hk/www/eng/stocks/indexes_detail.php?subtype=CEI
    China Enterprises Index getting slammed tonight in HK. 39 of 40 constituents in negative territory. Large gaps down in major HK indices. Fewer trips to the Home Depot for landlords bailing on the bubble.. and there’ll be fewer trips for HAM operators to Canada…

  5. Oh FUCK ME, really?!?!?! “Gosh, I was worried that once the stank of renting came upon me I’d no longer be invited to the eponymous Vancouver dinner party. Who knew that I wouldn’t have to spent tons of money creating a fake aura of prosperity I didn’t really have! THANKS VCI”

    This is why I say a whole generation needs to be destroyed financially before they’re going to get the bloody message. It’s also this attitude I *really* don’t miss about Van.

    Oddly I am catching a powerful whiff of it here in Toronto, and it wasn’t here before.

    Bring on the crash, I say.

Leave a Reply

