“If I sold now, I would be in a position of weakness – I’d have to rent.”

“It’s a sunny afternoon in a Toronto industrial park, and a group of about 60 laid-off factory workers are gathered for a farewell barbeque.
The Honeywell workers lost their jobs 15 months ago as the valve and parts maker shifted production to lower-cost factories in Hungary, China and Mexico.
But it isn’t as easy as picking up and moving. “I have to take care of my father – he’s 82,” says Brendan Andrews, a machine operator, who lives in Belleville, Ont.
Instead, he’s accepting an $11-an-hour job – a wage reduction of 50 per cent – that is non-unionized. He started on a 7 am to 7 pm shift last week.
Mario Garofalo also can’t move. The 42-year-old assembler, who worked at Honeywell for 14 years, doesn’t want to sell his house and leave his parents, girlfriend and nieces and nephews behind. “If I sold now, it would be in a position of weakness – I’d have to rent. I would use up money for other things, and on living expenses,” he says.”

– from ‘Stuck in place: Canada’s mobility problem’, G&M, 6 Jun 2012 [hat-tip KC via e-mail, and Makaya at VCI]

Years of RE-cultism blurs the thinking.
– vreaa

23 responses to ““If I sold now, I would be in a position of weakness – I’d have to rent.”

  1. The full article talks about the inability to fill jobs in the west because no one wants to move from out east, despite high unemployment. I think that’s a big change. When we moved from Ontario to B.C. in 2006 I remember driving down the Trans-Canada and seeing numerous cars with a guy and all his worldly possessions, Ontario plates, heading for Alberta. I remember everyone was talking about jobs in the oil patch, guys moving out there and leaving the kids and wife behind and coming back once a month because the money was so good. That’s a big change in attitude in such a short time, to suddenly forego good paying jobs because moving is inconvenient.

    • And I further note that when you put it this way:

      ““There are big costs, especially if you are married, and have children – you both have to find new jobs, and you have to sell your house, find new school for the kids, the kids will lose their friends,”

      — Canadians are spoiled brats. I don’t want to move for a good paying job, I’d rather make minimum wage or collect EI. No wonder westerners hate Ontarians. If you don’t have a job and money coming in the chances are you’re not going to be married for very long and the decision will be made for you. Boohoo, your kids lose their friends. Because they can’t make friends anywhere else.

      Oy vey! [head in hands, shaking head]

      • Beyond Debt

        There’s more to it than you suggest. People’s fundamental nature doesnt change like that in a few years. Working for minimum wage is hardly something a “spoiled brat” does. For some reason, there are more barriers to getting from Ontario (or wherever) to Alberta.

      • Agree. But we live in a democracy, just don’t expect me to pay your bills because moving is “hard”. Sit put as long as you like, but don’t expect any handouts. It’s this kind of social welfare mentality that’s destroying Europe and will eventually cost our children dearly.

    • Nothing has changed. The people who were likely to move for better jobs out west have already done so. There is a lot involved in uprooting yourself.

  2. No man who owns his own house and lot can be a Communist. He has too much to do. — William J. Levitt, 1948

  3. “If I sold now, it would be in a position of weakness – I’d have to rent. I would use up money for other things, and on living expenses”

    At least he admits his powerlessness.

  4. It says he can’t move. Is there more to his financial situation (e.g. equity or lack thereof)?

  5. Vreaa,

    Did you get my email regarding Richmond listings? Those are great pix and a clear indication of the market moving forward.

  6. Renters Revenge

    We should have some sympathy here. This is what deflation looks like, and it’s not pretty – for anyone.

  7. Part of the problem is the aging population. People in their 40s or 50s have a harder time moving around than those in their 20s or 30s.

  8. Ralph Cramdown

    Nothing says weakness like a fistful of Benjamins.

    Let me propose an alternate explanation: “If I sold now, I’d have to pack up all the crap I’ve got in the basement, the double garage and the shed, and all the toys in the yard. I’d have to either sell them or pay to have them hauled (West, or to landfill). At the other end, I’d have to find a house with enough space to hold all the stuff I kept. What a bother.

    Disclosure: Just cleaned out a house for relatives. They had a lot of stuff. Am a renter, and wish I had more space for stuff. Carlin got it.

  9. Poor guy, well not really if he voted for the nazi’s corporate-kiss-ass-and-destroy-middle-class-private-industry-jobs agenda. But if he didnt then seriously, who wants to live in Alberta and swim in their oil-spilled lakes?

  10. I can be the contrarian here and point out that when the financial caca is hitting the global fan, being closer to family is better.

  11. Sandwich generation

    I think the big difference is that the people who who are losing their jobs are in the point in their life when their parents are aging and in need of care or at least, advocacy. I am in my mid 50’s and have 3 parents/in-laws in 3 different care situations which involve visiting every weekend and looking after care plans, health, appointments and finances. All of the other siblings left town decades ago. However, we told our young adult kids to not consider buying so that they can be mobile to respond to their careers.

Leave a Reply

