All You Need Is Love – “This party tonight shows me how co-habitation, even with the asymmetric business arrangement inherent in tenant-landlord contracts, can produce wonderful relationships in an otherwise individualistic cityscape.”

“Was at a family friend’s birthday party tonight, she is heavily invested in 2 properties in Vancouver. She invited her tenants (4 of them) to the party. One brought a cake from the upscale bakery she works in, another who lives in her basement — she walks the dog and tends to the garden — made a few dishes as well.

One thing that always got me about Vancouver is how cold it is; not just the summer weather but the neighbourhoods, at least compared to other Canadian cities in which I’ve lived. This party tonight shows me how co-habitation, even with the asymmetric business arrangement inherent in tenant-landlord contracts, can produce wonderful relationships in an otherwise individualistic cityscape. Maybe this basement suite thingy isn’t such a curse after all.

Epilogue
I was reading on twitter about some guy complaining how one of his neighbour’s lawns remained uncut and whether he should call the City for “someone” to do something about it. I was thinking to myself, why not just f*cking mow it and invite them for tea next time they’re in town.”

jesse at VREAA 10 Jun 2012 12:02am

Imagine all the people, living for today. You may think I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us, and the world can live as one.
Seriously. Why not?
Perspective, people.
(At the same time, we have to deal with this.)
– vreaa

13 responses to “All You Need Is Love – “This party tonight shows me how co-habitation, even with the asymmetric business arrangement inherent in tenant-landlord contracts, can produce wonderful relationships in an otherwise individualistic cityscape.”

  1. Heavily invested in two properties? That’s potentially expensive birthday cake you just had a bite of last night.

    As much as I wish that your experience with tenants was the norm I think it is not, unfortunately.

    I agree with you about the coldness of Vancouver for the most part. Hard to make eye contact with a lot of people in this town. Not sure if we all have inferiority complexes because we don’t drive, excuse me, lease as nice BMW as others so we feel less about ourselves… tongue in cheek.

    Owning or renting, living alone and living in with multiple tenants, this town needs to turn that frown upside down. Maybe a lot of people are walking around overcome by the internal strife of wondering how they are going to pay the bills?

    VREAA, I’ve compared your best work to that of John Lennon’s, I’m still siding with John, but maybe he was leaning on Paul. Perspective, people.

  2. It appears the land lady can have her cake and eat it too…until she can’t.

  3. The birthday party reminds me of the serfs bringing tribute to the Lord of the Manor…

  4. Pretzels...thirsty

    This is denial, greed, snobbery and condescension. Typical Vancouver! I guess living in a million dollar shack does that to you

  5. All is fine until the rent is overdue. It’s much harder to deal with tenants in a professional manner when they are your “friends”.

  6. “I agree with you about the coldness of Vancouver for the most part. Hard to make eye contact with a lot of people in this town.”

    Speaking as a born and bred Vancouverite, people are really uptight in Vancouver nowadays. The Washington State police are lecturing us because they fear our road rage. I watched a self-righteous old bitch scolding a young family because their kids were feeding crumbs to ducks. I know she was technically correct, but she could smile and be a bit friendly. In public, like at the supermarket, people shove past you without any manners.

    • I am born and bred too. I blame my British mom and my Catholic upbringing (imagine piling those two on top of the usual buyer’s remorse that comes with a purchase). Conformity, conformity, conformity! When the States are telling us to chill you know it be bad.

  7. “heavily invested” does not mean “heavily leveraged”, unfortunately some assumptions in these comments are not correct. Achieving “perspective” involves introspection as well.

    • I was introspective this afternoon hoping to find perspective but only found zen. Then again, that could be the wine.

  8. Wasn’t there a story in the news last week about a woman who was arrested for breaking into someone’s home and cleaning it and leaving a receipt? When arrested, she said she was desperate for some income. So maybe calling the city is better than trying to be nice and mow the lawn yourself.

Leave a Reply

