Vancouver – “Where my friends/mom/society/tourists think I live; Where I actually live.”

- found on Facebook by Makaya, forwarded to VREAA 20 Feb 2012.
[Thanks. -ed.]

15 responses to “Vancouver – “Where my friends/mom/society/tourists think I live; Where I actually live.”

  1. I’m not a religious man, but…amen.

  2. Theres nothing wrong with smoking a fat joint while sitting at the top of sky chair on Cypress Mountain. Not quite BPOE, but you have to admit, Vancity is pretty sweet.

  3. I do go to the place tourists think I live (Grouse Mountain) on a weekly basis, and I plan on getting a nice place ‘where I think I live’ come the crash (maybe not that nice) and the 420 rallies look exactly like that… come to think of it all of these things are true at given times.

    Some good things, some not so good, but this isn’t a bad representation of what living in Vancouver can be like.

  4. where my Mom thinks I live is where I actually live. For the rest of you it looks like Vancouver is a pretty bleak place.

  5. All the stupid people thinking they will sell their house and retire.
    Who is going to buy it? Broke Gen x or y?
    Liar loans have dried up and here come 25 year mortgages.
    CHMC is broke. Everyone I know in Vancouver are livingon their credot cards or worse. The LOC on their mouldy dumpon a thirty foot lot.
    Things are crashing in NS as well, but people are not quite as far in the hole,yet.
    Canada is about to get a huge wake up call.
    So many Boomers will never be able to retire.
    There is building ageism in some industries, and note that many places look at your age, and if you are over 50 – bon chance.

    • yup, the boomers are in for a big shock when they all try to sell at once (more or less). It will correct the market via demographics alone; never mind the current bubble.

  6. “All the stupid people thinking they will sell their house and retire.
    Who is going to buy it?”

    Same buyers as the past 40 years – immigrants.
    How else do you think we go from 25M in 1970 to 35M today with our fertility rates well below replacement? Where have you been for the past 40 year Mr. Van Winkle?

  7. Cute. Vancouver as metaphor. I’ve imagined them all before too, but that rainy window really depresses me.

  8. something odd is happening today. Its yellow outside.. I call it yellow rain or a golden shower.. for some reason it makes people snicker..

Leave a Reply

