“I looked for a decent house for 3 years and have given up. I am not willing to spend all my money on a tear down. Just crappy value all around.”

“I too sold my company, no I did not make near $2M, I did ok in my books and I am seriously considering putting some money into other real estate investments NOT in Vancouver. I also looked for a decent house for 3 years and have given up. I am not willing to spend all my money on a tear down. Just crappy value all around. Vancouver is nice, yes, but it also rains 8 months of the year and costs an arm and leg to do it. Central California, a little in from the coast, up in the foot-hills on a few acres… now that sounds decent.
Why does everyone stay in Vancouver if it’s so damn expensive?”

Cali Calling at VREAA 22 Nov 2011 7:07pm

4 responses to ““I looked for a decent house for 3 years and have given up. I am not willing to spend all my money on a tear down. Just crappy value all around.”

  1. :) from another cali-vanster, it’s the rain premium dude. people figure once they’ve paid, may as well get good value

  2. Firstly, it doesn’t rain for 8 months a year – you’re exaggerating.

    Secondly, nobody forces you to buy. You could always rent. You don’t hear anybody complaining on Van RE blogs that rent is too expensive.

    You already said the place is nice. It sounds like you’ve already made the decision to leave, and are now trying to justify it.

    • rain premium value chain worker. spot the propaganda. classic use of “us vs them” and suggestion of “this is what you should think”

  3. Rent is expensive in Vancouver! There I said it!

    i have no idea why some people persist that renting is not expensive in Vancouver. Maybe not compared to Toronto or Manhantten on an absolute dollar basis. However on a percentage of income basis and for what you get, it’s pretty expensive. For someone on a $45K salary and working in downtown, renting anything decent within a 45mins commute will take up probably 30%+ of your take home pay. Add in the 2 zone transit pass and various utilities, 50% pay is gone pretty fast.

Leave a Reply

