“I made the move when the market was sleeping. I own my home free and clear. It’s taken a long time, but I do know where I came from and how I got here.”

This from craigslist: ‘British Properties (North Shore)’, 2011-06-20, 8:02AM PDT [hat-tip 'B'] -
“I’ve been here [in the British properties] for 30 years…. I used to live in Langley, but after high school I worked at a garage repairing cars and pumping gas. I saved a little, opened up a semi-successful firm of my own, went bankrupt through no fault but my own, happened to start-up again, scrimping and saving all the while raising two children (one of whom passed away rather early) and made the move when the market was sleeping. I own my home free and clear. It’s taken a long time, but I do know where I came from and how I got here. Sure it’s just a modest house with a fairly nice view.
So [for some to say] that the Chinese are taking over British Properties without ever living here, really pisses me off. But hey, you’re entitled to your opinion. Just take it from someone who actually lives up here. And know, I’m not some twisted rich snob who looks down on the rest of you, I’m just a regular guy who happend to one day find himself living somewhere else. I’ve earned it. So has anyone who owns their own home, be that on the North Shore, in Langley, Surrey, Coquitlam or Delta.
And by the way, I’m a second generation Canadian. And proud of it.”

10 responses to ““I made the move when the market was sleeping. I own my home free and clear. It’s taken a long time, but I do know where I came from and how I got here.”

  1. I’m not sure what the poster’s point is. The sad fact is that this fellow if he was starting out after high school today could only dream of affording a property in British Properties.

  2. His point is that many of the “Chinese” who are “taking over” british properties are actually hard working locals like himself. But most people take one look at the fellow’s appearance and assume that he is a FOB mainlander invading with dirty money. He is understandably a little bit peeved at this.

  3. Well this is funny. I just found out that the house on our street that sold for 1m a year ago contains a seemingly retired High Net Worth HAM mainlander. He came over and had a chat with my father in law, who can speak a tiny bit of Mandarin. Apparently, he is leaving Canada at the end of the year. He is going to emigrate to Singapore. He has filled out all the paperwork and is waiting for his residency to come. The reason? The taxes in Canada are too high for his liking.

    He also says his house is “no good.” He ascribes this little detail to the fact that it was “built by Koreans.” He likes our house better, since it looks more solid. I am not sure if this means he will be keeping it as a little investment or putting it up for sale later.

    I cannot believe that any HAMster would want to leave Vancouver. He must be lying or I must have hallucinated it all. This is the BEST PLACE ON EARTH. He will surely regret this madness for the rest of his retirement.

  4. I went to an OPEN HOUSE at 1620 Taylor Way today. All I can say is “HAM, HAM and more HAM.”

  5. bu but… there are no 8s in the asking price.?? I don’t understand.

    • It’s not 8s, it’s 4s that are lucky, and if you add 16 and 20 you get 36, which can be divided by 4 a lucky 9 times. Yeah, that’s it.

  6. obviously living in a “Korean” built house that’s no good made him delusional. Otherwise how would anyone want to live in a harsh law land like Singapore, or think Canadian tax is too high! Even Lai ChangXing says Canadian taxes are fair and he’s looking forward to paying them!

  7. Wow. A non-douchebag living in the British Properties.

    I guess the exception proves the rule…

Leave a Reply

