RE Advertising Saturation – “Where are the ads for all of the other businesses in the area? The only ones that can afford most of the advertising are in the real-estate business.”

RE ad saturation is indicative over overheated markets and bubble tops. This anecdote from Alberta could just as easily describe Vancouver. -vreaa

Here’s popeye the sailor man at vancouvercondo.info 27 Feb 2010 1:33 pm -

“Yesterday I went to the local Safeway in Spruce Grove [Alberta], and as I enter the lobby there are 6 Magazines in the free bins about real estate or home-renos. I grab my cart, and at the front of the cart an Ad for a local realtor, I look at other people’s carts and they all have the same ad from one realtor. I get to the check-out and the lady in front of me passes me a divider and on it is advertising for two new high end housing developments, I get past that and get my slip and in the back I see ads and again 2 of the three ads are for a realtor. On the way home now fully aware of advertising I pass 8 for sale signs and 4 bus benches with real-estate advertising 2 mortgage broker signs (2%VRM) and 5 billboards for new developments. Stopped and got my mail and there was 3 postcards for just listed homes in the area, hanging on my door is the Grove examiner which has 20% news, 40% real-estate, 20% car ads, and 20% other ads. Is it any wonder we are real-estate junkies. Where are the ads for all of the other businesses in the area? The only ones that can afford most of the advertising are in the real-estate business.”

Leave a Reply

