Fantasy Anecdote: “Mr Carney, I’d like to take the opportunity to thank you for improving housing affordability for us regular Canadians…”

This fantasy anecdote from vreaa himself:

Somehow, I come to be sitting in the very front row of the October 22, 2009 press conference held by Bank of Canada Governor, Mark Carney. The members of the press have had chances to ask their questions, there is a sense that we’re about to wrap, and then for some reason I find my hand raised, and Carney generously gestures for me to speak…
“Who…me?.. hey great!.. Mr Carney, thank you for allowing my question. I’d like to take the opportunity to thank you for improving housing affordability for us regular Canadians –I’m a construction worker who earns $70K a year, and I’ve finally taken the plunge and bought a $650K Vancouver town-home. My bank, my realtor, my mortgage broker, and all my friends & family encouraged me to buy.. Heck, my family have been on my back to buy for quite awhile, and my friends, who all own a few properties each,  told me to stop being such a renter-loser… And all these folks have reassured me that I can afford it because the monthly carrying costs seem so reasonable, and it’s obviously a good investment… Heck, if the last 8 years are anything to go by, it’ll be a GREAT investment, right? So… as you said, we’re all being prudent… Here’s my question… well, it’s more a request, really… Some buddies and I are thinking of getting in on some investment condos… If possible, could you hold off on raising rates past next June? … Please… it’ll help us out a lot…”

Leave a Reply

